Stuart Grant: among the most impactful plantiff financial lawyers ever, Lawdragon Hall of Fame (2022)


We are proud to introduce the 2022 class of the Lawdragon Hall of Fame.

Among them are the nation’s greatest corporate litigators, plaintiff powerhouses, innovators who established new areas of law practice and individuals whose dedication to a sometimes precarious legal system are unsurpassed.

We met Cravath partner Evan Chesler shortly after we founded Lawdragon in 2005. He was among a handful of lawyers in those early years who helped us define our aspirations of those we sought to write about, whose careers and achievements could inspire others. His tenacity and intelligence leading corporations through their toughest battles is the best a lawyer can be. Wachtell’s Ted Mirvis is another corporate litigation guru whose thoughtfulness and ability to untangle the most complicated shareholder battle are a joy to watch.

Also captured in this group of inductees is Supreme Court Justice Steven Breyer’s 27 years of thoughtful gravity, along with Merrick Garland’s storied determination that deprived him of a Supreme Court seat but rewarded him as the Attorney General for these times. Ken Doran reinvented Gibson Dunn, and pulled it to the ranks of America’s elite law firms, while Ora Fisher, now retired, showed the strength of a woman leading Latham and in Silicon Valley dealmaking. Steve Berman of Hagens Berman is tops in plaintiffs’ class actions, while Joe Power of Chicago shows the power of caring about your community and committing your entire career to helping your neighbors. Stuart Grant was among the most impactful plaintiff financial lawyers ever, at Grant & Eisenhofer, before founding Bench Walk Advisors, a litigation finance firm. And Bobbie McMorrow represents our outstanding consultants; she created an astounding number of law firms in her storied career, while providing warm mentorship and inspiration to women and so many others.

We founded our Hall of Fame in 2015, and you can view all those inducted here. As it evolves, we’ve decided to make selection of new members an annual event, just before we announce the year’s Lawdragon 500. In this winter of our malcontent, it’s important to remember the grit and dedication that are our best qualities – and which these professionals embody every day. It’s a great honor to write about them and have the opportunity to simply say thank you for all you’ve done.

RosemaryAlitoK&L GatesNewarkLitigators
KimAskewDLA PiperDallasLeadership
George “Gar”BasonDavis PolkNew YorkDealmakers
SteveBermanHagens BermanSeattleLitigators
StephenBreyerU.S. Supreme CourtWashington, D.C.Judges
BradBrianMunger TollesLos AngelesLitigators
EvanCheslerCravathNew YorkPower Brokers
Mary LouiseCohenPhillips & CohenWashington, D.C.Innovators
MikeDelikatOrrickNew YorkLitigators
KenDoranGibson DunnLos AngelesLeadership
OraFisherLathamMenlo ParkLeadership
SergioGalvisSullivan & CromwellNew YorkDealmakers
MerrickGarlandU.S. Department of JusticeWashington, D.C.Leadership
DanielGoldenAkin GumpNew YorkDealmakers
MarciaGoldsteinWeilNew YorkLitigators
StuartGrantBench Walk AdvisorsWilmingtonInnovators
AllanKannerKanner WhiteleyNew OrleansLitigators
JeffKleinClarick GueronNew YorkLitigators
SandraLeungBristol-Myers SquibbNew YorkLeadership
StuartLinerDLALos AngelesInnovators
MikeMcKoolMcKool SmithDallasLitigators
BobbieMcMorrowMcMorrow ConsultingSanta Ynez, Calif.Consultant
TedMirvisWachtellNew YorkLitigators
IsaacPachulskiPachulski StangLos AngelesDealmakers
JoePowerPower RogersChicagoLitigators
Harry ReasonerVinson & ElkinsHoustonLitigators
RonSaferRiley SaferChicagoCompassion
DickSaylesBradley ArantDallasLitigators

Read the entire article here